Friday, May 13, 2011

OHSAA 2011 & 2012 Season Region Assignments for Central Ohio Schools

2011-12 and 2012-13 Ohio High School Football Division Placement

St. Charles, all three Olentangy schools, all three Dublin schools, and all three Hilliard schools, and no Columbus City schools in Division I? Jonathan Alder and Columbus Independence in Division III? Worthington Kilbourne in Division II? Bishop Ready in Division IV?

Yup. Those are among the division placements for high school football in Central Ohio for the next two years, according to the OHSAA count that took place last fall. This count counts high school freshmen, sophomores, and juniors in every Ohio high school to assign each school a Division and region.

DIVISION I (all in Region 3)- (minimum number from the OHSAA count- 494)
(OCC Cardinal)
All eight schools- Dublin Scioto (for the first time since 2003), Dublin Jerome, Olentangy (for the first time since 2007), Olentangy Liberty, Westerville North, Westerville South, Westerville Central, and Marysville
(OCC Capital)
Delaware Hayes, Olentangy Orange, and Hilliard Bradley
(OCC Central)
Seven of the eight schools- Upper Arlington, (Galloway) Westland, (Grove City) Central Crossing, Hilliard Davidson, Hilliard Darby, Thomas Worthington, and Dublin Coffman
(OCC Ohio)
All eight schools- Gahanna Lincoln (the largest OHSAA boy count of any Franklin County or Central Ohio high school), Newark, Groveport Madison, Lancaster, Pickerington North, Pickerington Central, Reynoldsburg, and Grove City
(Central Catholic League)
Columbus St. Charles Preperatory School

Gone from Division I: Worthington Kilbourne (OCC Central), Columbus West (City League South), Columbus Northland (City League North, first-ever playoff appearance in 2010), Marion Harding, Mount Vernon (OCC Capital), and Columbus Franklin Heights (OCC Capital), all now in Division II, Region 7; Cincinnati Anderson H.S. with 493 in the OHSAA count (from Region 4) is now in Division II, Region 8 and the largest Division II school

DIVISION II (all in Region 7)- (327-493)
(Columbus City League North)
Columbus Brookhaven, Columbus Beechcroft, Columbus Mifflin, Columbus Northland (from Division I), and Columbus Whetstone
(Columbus City League South)
Columbus Briggs (largest OHSAA boy count for the Columbus City Schools), Columbus West (from Division I), Columbus Marion-Franklin, and Columbus Walnut Ridge
(Ohio Capital Conference- Capital Division)
Mount Vernon (from Division I; largest D-II school in Central Ohio), New Albany, Pataskala Watkins Memorial, Columbus Franklin Heights (from Division I), and Sunbury Big Walnut
(Ohio Capital Conference- Central Division)
Worthington Kilbourne (from Division I)
(Mid State League- Cardinal Division)
Canal Winchester, Ashville Teays Valley (from Region 8), Columbus Hamilton Township
(Mid State League- Buckeye Division)
Pataskala Licking Heights (from Division III)
Marion Harding (from Division I), Chillicothe (from Division III)

Gone from Division II: Columbus Centennial (to Division III), Columbus St. Charles (to Division I), Columbus Independence (to Division III), Dublin Scioto (to Division I), Hilliard Bradley (to Division I), Olentangy (to Division I), Olentangy Orange (to Division I), Dublin Jerome (to Division I)

DIVISION III- (248-326)
Region 10 (Franklin, Delaware, and Marion County schools)
(Central Catholic League)
Columbus Bishop Watterson (defending D-III State Champs) and Columbus St. Francis DeSales
(Columbus City League- South)
Columbus Eastmoor Academy, Columbus South Urban Academy, and (from Division II) Columbus Independence
(Columbus City League- North)
Columbus East, Columbus Centennial (from Division II), and Columbus Linden McKinley
(Mid State League- Ohio)
Bexley, Whitehall-Yearling
(Mid Ohio Athletic Conference)
Delaware Buckeye Valley, (from Division IV) River Valley

Region 11 (Licking County schools)
(Mid State League- Ohio)
Granville (largest D-III school in Central Ohio), Hebron Lakewood, Newark Licking Valley

Region 12 (Madison, Pickaway, and Fayette County schools)
(South Central Ohio League)
London (from Division IV), Hillsboro, Washington Court House, Miami Trace
(Mid State League- Cardinal)
Circleville, Circleville Logan Elm
Plain City Jonathan Alder (from Division IV)

Gone from Division III: Chillicothe (to Division II)

DIVISION IV (173-247)
Region 14 (Franklin, Delaware, Union, Morrow, and Marion Counties)
(Central Catholic League- Gold Division)
Columbus Bishop Hartley (defending D-IV State Champ), Columbus Bishop Ready (from Division V)
(Mid Ohio Athletic Conference)
Richwood North Union, Galion Northmor

Region 15 (Fairfield, Licking, and Knox Counties)
(Mid State League Ohio Division)
(Mid State League Cardinal Division)
Bloom-Carroll, Lancaster Fairfield Union
(Mid Buckeye Conference)
Johnstown-Monroe, Utica

Gone from Division IV:
River Valley (to Division III), Plain City Jonathan Alder (to Division III), London (to Division III)

DIVISION V (120-172)
Region 19 (Franklin, Knox, Licking, and Morrow Counties)

(Mid State League Buckeye Division)
Grandview Heights (from Region 20)
(Mid State League Ohio Division)
Columbus Academy
(Mid Ohio Athletic Conference)
Cardington-Lincoln, Mount Gilead
(Mid Buckeye Conference)
Centerburg, Fredericktown, Johnstown Northridge

Region 20 (Madison and Union Counties)
(Mid State League Buckeye Division)
West Jefferson
(South Central Ohio League)
London Madison Plains (from Division IV)
Milford Center Fairbanks

Gone from Division V: Columbus Bishop Ready (to Division IV), Richwood North Union (to Division IV), Columbus Africentric Secondary (to Division VI)

DIVISION VI (119 and under)
Region 23
(City League South Division)
Columbus Africentric Secondary School (from Division V)
(Mid State League Buckeye Division)
Lancaster Fisher Catholic, Columbus Harvest Prep Secondary
(Mid State League Ohio Division)
Newark Catholic
(Mid Ohio Athletic Conference)
Morral Ridgedale
Grove City Christian, Lancaster Fairfield Christian